What are the GP trainee assessments?

GP trainees have to pass three assessments in order to gain CCT:

  • The CSA (Clinical Skills Assessment) is sat in their third year of training when they are in General Practice and involves an OSCE style surgery sat at the RCGP building in London. For each case they are marked on three areas: data gathering, clinical management and interpersonal skills.

  • The AKT (Applied Knowledge Test) can be sat in ST2 or ST3 and many trainees decide to sit this in ST2 because it allows them to focus on their CSA in ST3. This is a knowledge-based, multiple choice test.

  • The WPBA (Work Place Based Assessment) is a working document built up across all three years of training. There are a number of aspects:

Learning logs – on-going reflective entries by trainees

PDP (Professional Development Plan) – on-going target setting for learning and development

Individual assessments:

CbDs (Case based Discussions)

Minicexs (Clinical Evaluation Exercise)

CEPS (Clinical Examination and Procedural Skills)

COTs (Consultation Observation Tool - in primary care only)

MSF (Multisource feedback) – 360° colleague feedback questionnaires

PSQ (Patient Satisfaction Questionnaire – in primary care only)

Clinical Supervisor Reports

Educational Supervisor Review - review of the evidence in the eportfolio in the six month period

Call 111 when you need medical help fast but it’s not a 999 emergencyNHS ChoicesThis site is brought to you by My Surgery Website