What is the GP curriculum?

The GP curriculum is underpinned by the first statement:

1. Being a General Practitioner

This statement describes the key skills, attitudes and areas of expertise required for a doctor to work as a GP.

This first statement forms the basis for the following six areas of capability:

Knowing yourself and relating to others

2.01 The GP Consultation in Practice

Consultation and communication skills 

Ethics and values

Promoting equality and valuing diversity

Carers, relatives and families

2.03 The GP in the Wider Professional Environment


Team based care and chronic disease management

Practice management, finances and law

Working in systems of care

2.02 Patient safety and quality of care

Clinical governance and quality improvement

Information management and technology

2.04 Enhancing professional knowledge

Evidence based practice and statistics

Research and academic activity

Teaching and learning skills

Applying clinical knowledge 1

3.02 Genetics in Primary Care

3.03 Care of Acutely Ill People

3.08 Sexual Health

3.12 Cardiovascular Health

Applying clinical knowledge 2

3.15 Care of people with ENT, oral, facial problems

3.16 Care of people with eye problems

3.17 Care of people with metabolic problems

3.18 Care of people with neurological problems

3.20 Care of people with musculoskeletal problems

3.21 Care of people with skin problems

Caring for the whole person

3.04 Care of children and young people

3.05 Care of older adults

3.06 Women’s health

3.07 Men’s health

3.09 end of life care

Managing complex care

3.10 Care of people with mental health problems

3.11 Care of people with intellectual disability

3.14 Care of people who misuse drugs and alcohol

Further details for each area of the curriculum can be found on the RCGP website here






Call 111 when you need medical help fast but it’s not a 999 emergencyNHS ChoicesThis site is brought to you by My Surgery Website